Committee Meetings

Included in this section are the Minutes of the Meetings of the Town Council plus its various committees. Also included are the Minutes for the Budleigh Salterton Traffic Group, a sub committee of the Town Council.

If you require a copy of minutes older than those included here, please contact the Town Clerk who will be happy to supply them at a small charge.

Members of the public are invited to make verbal submissions on any topic relating to the business of the Town Council. Please notify the Town Clerk before the Meeting if you wish to speak.

All meetings are held in the Council Chamber and start at 7.00pm unless otherwise stated - please check the Notice Board outside the Public Hall for information, as all meetings are subject to change. 

Coronavirus Update - May 2021

At midnight on 6 May 2021, the Legislation allowing for the Town Council to meet remotely ceased.  The Town Council is now required to return to face-to-face meetings and as such, for the foreseeable future, they will be held in the Public Hall.  The Council has written a Risk  Assessment to ensure the safety of all taking part in these meetings and that document can be viewed here.

A full list of meetings for 2021 can be found via this  link:  Meeting List 2021

Town Council

The Town Council meets on the fourth Monday of every month (with the exception of August and December).

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee meets on the second and fourth Mondays in the month. All 12 Councillors are members of the Planning Committee. The Chairman of this Committee is Cllr R D Sherriff.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee meets approximately three times a year. Its main function is to set the Precept (the amount of money requested from East Devon District Council required to run the Town Council) and to make sure the Council's budgets are adhered to. The Chairman is currently Cllr D J Hayward.

Public Hall Committee

There are currently seven members sitting on this Committee, which meets approximately four times a year. As the name suggests, this Committee's main function is the management of the Public Hall and Norman Centre.

Community Gardens Committee

The Town Council runs the Community Gardens in Greenway Lane. The site was redeveloped in 2011/12 and has been up and running since 2013. There are 87 plots, all of which are let. Please contact the offices if you wish to be added to the Waiting List.

Budleigh Salterton Traffic Group

Budleigh Traffic Group was formed to attempt to alleviate some of the traffic problems in the town. Its Membership is mixed with Town, District and County Councillors plus other local interested parties.

Foreshore & Footpaths Committee

This Committee's main job is to look after seafront. The Chairman regularly meets with East Devon District Council StreetScene officers to make sure our beautiful beach and seafront stay spick and span for residents and visitors alike.

Community Infrastructure Levy Committee

This Committee was set up to investigate potential projects to use CIL receipts to best promote the wellbeing and social opportunities of the residents of Budleigh Salterton. The Committee will also be investigating potential projects which can benefit from S.106 Funds.

Neighbourhood Plan Monitoring Committee

It was agreed at the Annual Meeting of the Town Council held in July 2020 that the work of this Committee would be better undertaken by the Planning Committee.

Forthcoming Meetings

Planning Committee followed by a Meeting of the Town Council plus Public Hall and CIL Committees

24 January 2022

7.00pm in the Public Hall 

The Agendas will appear here on 19 January 2022

Planning Committee followed by a Meeting of the Town Council

21 February 2022

7.00pm in the Public Hall

The Agendas will appear here on 16 February 2022